A stunning autumn day was the perfect backdrop for Ball’s Falls in Jordan today where the crowds gathered to take in the gorgeous weather, food, art, music, a little bit of history and of course the falls at Ball’s Falls for their 41st annual Thanksgiving Festival….


With over 150 juried artisans, food vendors, demonstrators & entertainers participating in this four-day long annual tradition, there was lots to do, see, and explore ….this massive barn held many of the vendors inside…



The arts and crafts were unique and beautiful.  How about these rustic birdhouses?


We were inspired by these wooden bowls that were pure works of art…




And speaking of works of art and wood…how about these handmade paddels! Wow…talk about taking canoeing to the next level…



Gorgeous parrifin oil burning lamps made a cozy corner within the market…a nice idea for outdoor entertaining!




The bold red on black of this porcelain Rampant Lion of Scotland really was an eyecatcher…nice idea for a cool wall display don’t you think?


Talk about eye candy…this jewellery display was amazing! Who says jewellery has to be boring?


One of the great things about the day is all the history that was intermingled with everything else…here is a facinating steam engine display that sounded as good as it looked!


There was lots of other history to check out on the grounds as well.   Here’s a little history of the area.

Ball’s FallsOntario, also known as Balls Mills, Louthe Mills and Glen Elgin, is a historical ghost town located in what is now a part of Jordan in the Niagara region which dates back to the early 19th century. It is now preserved as a conservation area operated by the Niagara Peninsula Conservation Authority. The town was established as early as the 19th century by Jacob Ball, a United Empire Loyalist. After the American Revolution, Jacob and his family were forced from their home and potash works in New York. In 1783, the Ball family was granted land in Niagara because of their allegiance to the British Crown. Jacob’s sons, John and George, received 1200 acres of land in Niagara in 1807. Twenty Mile Creek, which runs through the area, has two waterfalls. The Ball brothers built a grist mill, a saw mill and a woolen mill at the lower falls. The town began flourishing and soon a blacksmith, tailor, weaver and butcher lived on the land. By 1852 the population of the town, then Glen Elgin, grew to 19 locals. In the late 1850s, the Great Western Railway was established and many industries moved away from Glen Elgin and were located closer to the railway. In 1962 Manly Ball sold the land to the Niagara Peninsula Conservation Area and the town, now known as Ball’s Falls.

Here is a look at a mill from the outside which is perched right by the falls on the site…




Inside the running mill…tourists get a glimpse of the action…


Outside the mill …



A typical early 18th centry cottage inside…



A crowd gathered taking in the scenic beauty of Ball’s Falls…


A look over the stone fence…



Lots of fun entertainment kept everyone happy…

Birds of prey was on hand to show the public up close these amazing creatures….here is a barn owl with its handler….



And who doesn’t love going for a fall fish?  Courtesy of Bass Pro Mills…a nice way to wind down the day…


But first a stop to get the traditional roasted corn on a cob!  Check out this setup…


A great tradition that will keep us coming back for more.  See you next year Ball’s Falls!



For more information go to the website BALLS FALLS

To receive similar content, “Like” us on Facebook @ https://www.facebook.com/niagarabuzz.ca

Let us know what you think!